Lots of New Paintings, and Why My Business is not a Business

I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been too busy creating, working on my shed (the next post) and putting the final touches on my new book: I am Water.

After speaking to some people about my paintings and how I had to value myself, charge money, don’t do anything for free, I looked into making the painting a lucrative side hustle. Long story short, I wasted a lot of time setting up Printify, Shopify, an art Facebook page connected to both, and uploading and designing…but the amount of work and time required seemed never ending. And all the fun was sucked out of it.

The reason for my painting is twofold. The first is because I love painting. It’s peaceful and fulfilling and gets me in the Zone where I’m at peace. The second reason is the joy the paintings give people when they receive them. Once I throw “business” into the mix, and waste time on the business side, I’m not doing it for the right reasons and I feel that the work would show it. The magic in the paintings would be out the window, potentially.

So one happy day, almost as soon as I’d set it all up, I took the sites down and felt so much better. I’ve been unable to remove the Facebook page so I’ll use that to display my new works. I’m not charging for my paintings unless it’s from some rich stranger who insists, or it was a job for a business, and even then, I don’t know. People can pay for shipping if they’re not local. I anyone wants prints I’ll set up a direct ship at cost.

Without further ado, here are the newest ones. A cow, a friend’s dog, Dori.

Then a secret brother I didn’t know about, another friend’s dog (RIP Piper), a view from my aunt’s house in Massachusetts, a commission of the view from a lake house in Canada, and finally my grandson and two dogs at Valentine’s Day.

That’s about it for today. There may be other paintings, dozens in closets or the drawer of a cabinet but these are the most recent and mostly catches us up.

I’ve got an awesome new art area to work in that I’ve cover in the next post. Now that I have that retreat I’ll be producing more art and writing.

To creativity!

-Tracy

Leave a comment