Up until last week, I’d never made biscotti. I’d eaten it from restaurants, and from store bought packages. I was limited to one or two flavors. Though I like to bake, I was intimidated by biscotti, much as I am by pies. I have tried throughout my life to make pies, and except for cream pies in premade crusts, I’ve been wholly unsuccessful.

Though I knew nothing about the process of making biscotti, I was afraid of it. Until now. I stumbled across a handful of recipes on Pinterest, tweaked and tried a couple of varieties, and I think I have mastered it. This isn’t hard to do because it’s only a handful of ingredients.

The key to biscotti I realized lies only in the baking method.

Here is my recipe for Spice Cake Biscotti, but you can use any cake mix. I also made it with a Lemon Cake Mix last weekend and it was delicious too.

IMG_1874

Ingredients are pictured here but for ease:

  1. 1 standard Spice Cake mix
  2. 1 and 1/4 cup flour
  3. 1 stick of butter (softened)
  4. 2 eggs
  5. 1//4 cup walnuts (optional)
  6. 1/2 cup butterscotch chip (optional but so good)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix first four ingredients with a hand mixer. Dough will become think like sugar cookie dough. You can do this with a wooden spoon but it will take a long time and hurt your hand. IMG_1875

Add in the nuts, chips  or whatever else you want. I think raisins would be delicious but my boyfriend hates them so I left them out. In the picture I put them in the bowl together but I think adding the chips and nuts after would work better.

Shape it onto a greased cookie sheet.  It should be 1/2 inch high and however wide you need it to be for that depth. Ignore those silicon puppy molds. That’s another recipe for another day.IMG_1876

Now here it what sets this aside from a regular cookie recipe.

Bake for 30 minutes until a knife in the center comes out clean. Remove it from the oven and wait 10 minutes. Set a timer.

After 10 minutes, cut the pieces into biscotti sliced wedges, then put them back in the oven (still at 350 degrees) for exactly 10 minutes. Again, set a timer. This step is important.

Finally, shut the oven off and leave the biscotti in there to cool and harden for 30 minutes. I set a timer for this too but realistically the oven would be cold by then probably so maybe it doesn’t matter. I took them out at 3o minutes and they were perfect!

I added a glaze of 1 cup confectioners’ sugar and 3 tablespoons milk to drizzle.

IMG_1877

That’s all there is to it.

If you make this let me know how it turns out.

Happy cooking!

-Tracy

For more of Tracy’s recipes of her first love, writing books and stories, please visit her here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

