United States Post Office Rant

Posted: December 3, 2012 in Writing and Life
Tags: , , , , ,

poI ordered a Christmas gift for someone on November 19th. I was proud of myself for ordering early. On 11-20 it was shipped. Yay, good for me.

I hadn’t thought much of it but this weekend realized it had been awhile. I had opted for their free shipping option. I’ve ordered from them in the past and had no issues.

Last night I clicked on the UPS link they’d provided. With economy it seems, they deliver all the way from their warehouse in OH but then drop it off at a local post office for delivery. Okay, so that’s still fine. It was delivered to my local post office on 11-26-12 at 9:31am. Today, 12-3 it still wasn’t here.

The shipper included not only the UPS tracking number, but also one for the USPS. Very efficient. I went to the USPS website and copy and pasted the number in. It arrived today, final destination in Wichita, KS. What?

I called USPS and she said cheerily, “You’re all set. It arrived today in Wichita.” I barked at her that it was RIGHT IN Boston, right near my office and yet instead of carrying it down the street they sent it to some random address in KS? She said calmly, “I can understand your frustration.” She has no idea. She took all my info and my number and someone will get back to me within 24 hours.

So I called the company I ordered it from. They were very nice and said once the person who got it in Kansas ships it back to me or to them, they’ll refund me and if I’m deadset on ordering it again I can order a new one. I remarked I didn’t know what kind of condition it would be in. Not sure why he said deadset, as if I’m stubborn for wanting my package.

Hung up with him feeling slightly relieved that it’s still early for present time and this will sort out in time one way or the other, probably. Then I clicked on the details from the USPS site.

Here’s what it said, all dated 12-3-12. Note the times and the impossibility of this happening the way it’s documented. Read from the bottom up.

Delivered December 03, 2012, 9:19 am WICHITA, KS 67210 Delivery Confirmation

Notice Left December 03, 2012, 8:53 am HEBER CITY, UT 84032

Processed through

USPS Sort Facility

December 03, 2012, 8:37 am WARRENDALE, PA 15095

Sorting Complete December 03, 2012, 8:35 am WASHINGTON, DC 20032

Processed through

USPS Sort Facility

December 03, 2012, 8:19 am BELL

GARDENS, CA 90201

Forwarded December 03, 2012, 6:41 am HAUPPAUGE, NY

Processed through

USPS Sort Facility

December 03, 2012, 6:32 am SAINT PAUL, MN 55121

Missent December 03, 2012, 6:26 am

Arrival at Post Office December 03, 2012, 3:23 am CUPERTINO, CA 95014

Depart USPS Sort

Facility

December 03, 2012 SAINT PAUL, MN 55121

Processed through

USPS Sort Facility

December 03, 2012, 2:37 am SAINT PAUL, MN 55121

On 11-26 it arrived in Boston at the local post office and then was sent to all these places, with no rhyme or reason anyone can figure out.

Can you say flawed system?

I’ll update this entry as I get resolution but today I am not happy with the postmen who messed this up, about 10 times.

Tracy

As of Dec 6th, there is still no resolution from the post office. They said they’d call me back by Monday the 10th but according to consumer Affairs, “Well there’s clearly something wrong with that tracking number.” Ya think? On the upside, the vendor refunded all my money. I gave them my word that if it ever shows up I’ll ship it back.

Comments
  1. Andy says:

    Having a very similar problem with this same post office!! I did a quick google search and found MANY MANY people with the same issue. Very frustrating. This post office needs to be under investigation.

    • Thanks. I had no idea it was happening to others. After about seven calls and messages I never got any calls back. The vendor refunded my money so I’ll let them work it out, but whenever I type in the tracking number, it’s STILL bouncing all around the country at lightning speed, despite that impossibility. They choose to just take calls and never reply back and I agree, this issue warrants investigation. I suspect all our packages are still at the Boston post office but no one knows how to read a label and hand deliver anything anymore.

Leave a Reply

