Let me first say that this is the one week mark since I started the Atkins Diet. I weighed in at 4.8 lbs less than last Sunday! Woo hoo! I know myself and know full well I need to keep creating new recipes to make this work for me long-term.

I posted about Low Carb Custard Bites the other day. It was a fun recipe and did the trick for providing something yummy. However, as I spent the next couple of days trying to make them creamier and tastier I came up with this new tweaked recipe. It’s something I plan to make often and keep on hand. Extra ingredients, different method. Better recipe.

They’re quick and easy and only about 3 carbs or less each. This recipe will make two. You could easily double the recipe to same time. They keep well in the fridge and have the same glossy feel as a much more fattening “real” custard or flan.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray cooking spray into 2 ramekins or custard cups. Half fill a baking pan with hot water.

Ingredients:

Pinch of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp cinnamon,1 tbl  heavy cream, 3 eggs, 2 and  1/2 packets of Splenda, 1/4 tsp coconut extract, 1/4 tsp vanilla extract

Put the eggs, cream, 2 Splenda packets, coconut and vanilla extract and cinnamon in a blender and mix it well for 30 seconds. Pour this mix into the prepared ramekins. It makes exactly 2. Fill about 1/2 full. Sprinkle with half packet  (or less) of Splenda and a pinch of nutmeg. Place the ramekins in the hot water bath.

Bake for about 28 minutes or until they are  golden brown and firm and an inserted life comes out clean.

They are great warm or cold but I prefer well chilled.

Good luck and happy eating!

Tracy

Visit again for new recipes and don’t forget to check out my AMAZON PAGE to see all my fiction currently for sale.

Leave a Reply

