I Want a Duck Like That

Posted: May 15, 2010 in Writing and Life
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

by Tracy L. Carbone

Yesterday  I met a friend for lunch at the Frog Pond on the Boston Common. We planned to buy nachos from the snack shack and then spend our lunch hour discussing and lamenting the undecipherable complexities of relationships.

As I waited for her to arrive, I spotted a couple of old ducks sitting on the grass. It’s them in the picture above. At first they seemed to be run-of-the-mill ducks, common Mallards, not markedly different from all the others milling about who had claimed the historical Frog Pond as their Duck Pond.

Once they stood up though and waddled to the water’s edge, I saw that they were older ducks. The male stood up first,  restless to swim, and limped under his chubby feathered body. He took a few steps, excited to jump in, but then stopped, turned, and waited for his mate. She then arose, also a little heavy, and limped over to him slowly. Then side by side they entered the water together.

I was touched by the relationship they had, but as I watched them further, I saw how close they really were. The male kept swimming ahead, then would stop to wait for her.  It was obvious he was stronger and more eager to swim all around the pond, see the sights, look for crumbs or bugs or whatever it is the Boston ducks eat, but he never swam more than a few feet away from his mate, Mrs. Duck.

He didn’t appear resentful that she slowed him down, didn’t leave her for a younger duck who could keep up. Instead he’d go just a bit away then stop. And the way he kept turning around to look for her, make sure she wasn’t too far out of his comfort range was beautiful.

I know a lot of human couples like those ducks, who have stayed together through crisis and disease and old age. And I know my share of humans who didn’t want to wait for their Mrs. Ducks to catch up, who wanted to cruise the pond alone.

That little Mallard couple inspired me and that male was a good guy. Next time I fall in love, I want a duck like that.

Tracy L. Carbone ,  is the author of The Man of Mystery Hill, published by Echelon Press. Buy Now as an eBook on Kindle . The print version will be available this summer, and can be pre-ordered now.

Follow Tracy on TWITTER for continual updates.

Comments
  1. jfhilborne says:

    Love it, so true. We need to tell all those lone pond cruisers to “duck” off.

  2. Yo' Momma says:

    Great post, it reminds me of what I’m currently reading . . . Did you ever read Catcher in the Rye? Holden Caulfield is obsessed with where the ducks in Central Park South go in the winter. I teach it to my students, and they want to know where they go too. Do you know?

    • tracycarbone says:

      I looked this up and this is what I found. I hope this helps and I’m glad you liked the blog. “The ducks in MA follow the Atlantic Flyway and go south until they find more open water and more plentiful food. Some only go as far as the Mid-Atlantic states, some go to Florida and beyond.”

  3. sheila ender says:

    I think this was my favorite so far,and I hope that you get what you want,a Duck like that.

  4. SuetSwoft says:

    Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Leave a Reply

